Pricing Authority

The Independent Health and Aged Care Pricing Authority's board (the Pricing Authority) provides independent and transparent advice to the Australian Government in relation to funding for public hospitals and residential aged care services.

The main functions of the Pricing Authority are to:

  • determine the national efficient price and national efficient cost each year for healthcare services provided by public hospitals to inform decision makers in relation to funding of public hospitals
  • provide advice to inform Australian Government decisions on the costing and pricing of residential aged care and support at home aged care services.
  • provide advice on request on health care pricing or costing matters (whether the matters relate to health care services provided by public hospitals).

Pricing Authority members are appointed for a period of up to five years and can be reappointed. 

The Chair and the Deputy Chair (Aged Care Pricing) are appointed by the Minister for Health and Aged Care.

The Deputy Chair (Hospital Pricing) is appointed with the agreement of First Ministers of all states and territories. 

The remaining Pricing Authority members are appointed with the agreement of the Prime Minister and First Ministers of the states and territories.

Members of the Pricing Authority bring significant and varied expertise to their roles, including substantial experience and knowledge of the health industry, healthcare needs, the aged care industry, and the provision of health care in regional and rural areas.

The Pricing Authority is supported by the the Independent Health and Aged Care Pricing Authority's Chief Executive Officer, who is responsible for the running of the agency. All Pricing Authority members are non-executive.

David Tune AO PSM, Chair, IHACPA Pricing Authority

Mr David Tune AO PSM (Chair)

Mr David Tune AO PSM was appointed Chair of the Pricing Authority with effect from 1 February 2022.

He was formerly the Chair of the Aged Care Sector Committee that provided advice to the Commonwealth Government on aged care from early 2015 to July 2021.

He has undertaken many reviews for the Commonwealth and state governments, including the Legislative Review of Aged Care in 2016. 

Mr Tune was Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Finance from 2009 until 2014.

Jennifer Williams, Deputy Chair, IHACA Pricing Authority

Ms Jennifer Williams AM (Deputy Chair)


Ms Jennifer Williams is a non-executive director and holds a number of Board positions including Chair of Northern Health and Chair of Yooralla.

Her other Board appointments are with Barwon Health and the Victorian Health Building Authority Advisory Board. She has previously held the positions of Chief Executive of the Australian Red Cross Blood Service, Chief Executive of Alfred Health and Chief Executive of Austin Health. 

She has considerable experience in the health sector over several decades working across the hospital, aged care and community sectors.

Dr Stephen Judd AM, Deputy Chair (Aged Care Pricing), IHACPA Pricing Authority

Dr Stephen Judd AM (Deputy Chair, Aged Care Pricing)


Dr Stephen Judd was Chief Executive of health and aged care services provider, HammondCare from 1995-2020.  When he stepped down, HammondCare had grown to provide care and services to more than 25,000 clients. 

He has written and contributed to books on dementia care, aged care design and the role of charities in contemporary Australian society. He has served on numerous government and industry committees and until 2020 was a member of the Advisory Council of the Australian Aged Care Quality Agency.

Stephen has served as a Senior Visiting Fellow at the School of Population Health, UNSW Medicine, University of New South Wales and as the inaugural Fellow, Council on the Ageing, a peak consumer advocacy group, until the end of 2022.  

Glenn Appleyard - IHACPA Pricing Authority

Mr Glenn Appleyard

Mr Glenn Appleyard was a member of the Australian Accounting Standards Board from 1 January 2003 to 31 December 2011.

Glenn has held several senior positions within the public service including Deputy Secretary in the Tasmanian and Victorian Departments of Treasury and Finance and Regional Director for the Australian Bureau of Statistics in Tasmania. 

He was a member of the Commonwealth Grants Commission for 11 years and was the Chair of the Tasmanian Economic Regulator.

Prudence Hall - IHACPA Pricing Authority

Ms Prudence Ford

Ms Prudence Ford is a member of the Health Consumers’ Council of Western Australia. She was an inaugural member of the Medical Board of Australia, and was previously a member of the National Blood Authority, the National Health and Medical Research Council, the Brightwater Care Group Board (a provider of Aged and Disability Care Services) and the Western Australian Medical Board.

Prudence has had 30 years’ experience in the public service at Commonwealth and state levels. She has held senior executive positions in the (then) Commonwealth Departments of Community Services and Health, Finance, and the Attorney General and in the Western Australian Departments of Health and the Premier and Cabinet.

Dr Adam Coltzau - IHACPA Pricing Authority

Dr Adam Coltzau


Dr Adam Coltzau is the director of medical services at St George Hospital in rural Queensland. 

He is a rural generalist with advanced skills in obstetrics and anaesthetics and is a Fellow of both the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine with extensive experience in hospital management and aged care.

He is a senior clinical lecturer at the University of Queensland Rural Clinical School and General practitioner training supervisor.

As the 2017 Queensland General Practitioner of the year, Adam is a former president and served on the boards of the Rural Doctors Association of Queensland and the Rural Doctors Association of Australia.

Adam has served as the inaugural chair of the Board of the Rural Doctors Foundation, a charity he helped set up to improve health services in rural Australia.

Prof Jane Hall AO - IHACPA Pricing Authority

Distinguished Professor Jane Hall AO

Professor Jane Hall is Distinguished Professor of Health Economics in the Business School at the University of Technology, Sydney.

She is a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia and of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences. Jane has worked across many areas of health economics, including funding and financing issues.

She has experience across a range of health policy issues in Australia and internationally.

Jenny Richter - IHACPA Pricing Authority

Ms Jenny Richter AM

Ms Jenny Richter is a non-executive director and holds board positions with the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute, Cancer Council SA (Deputy Chair), Cancer Council Australia (Deputy Chair) and the Southern Adelaide Local Health Network (Deputy Chair), where she also chairs the Clinical Governance Board Sub-Committee.

Jenny has previously held a number of executive roles including five years as Deputy Chief Executive for SA Health and as Chief Executive Officer of Central Adelaide Local Health Network. She is also a past board member of ECH a South Australian aged care provider.

Is this page useful?