Non-admitted care

Non-admitted care encompasses services provided to patients who do not undergo a formal admission process and do not occupy a hospital bed.

For example, services provided by hospitals:

  • in hospital outpatient clinics
  • in community based clinics
  • in patients’ homes.

The current classification system for non-admitted care is known as Tier 2 Non-Admitted Services. Read more about the Tier 2 Non-Admitted Care Classification system here.

The Independent Health and Aged Care Pricing Authority (IHACPA) is currently working to develop a new classification for non-admitted care services, the Australian Non-Admitted Care Classification (ANACC).

The purpose of developing the ANACC is to describe non-admitted activity according to patient characteristics and the complexity of care to accurately reflect the costs of non-admitted public hospital services for activity based funding and to move away from a classification based on a service and clinic that the patient attended.

The first step in this process is to conduct a non-admitted care costing study, in partnership with jurisdictions and hospital sites, to collect non-admitted care activity and cost data to inform the development of ANACC.

IHACPA proposes to undertake an iterative process to develop and implement the ANACC which includes the transition from aggregate clinic attendance data to patient level clinical data.  

Key links

Is this page useful?