Consultation now open - Draft IHACPA Work Program and Corporate Plan 2024–25

Make a submission

Governance Framework for the Development of the Admitted Care Classifications

Date published: 16 March 2023

The Governance Framework for the Development of the Admitted Care Classifications outlines the classification development and approval process, the guiding principles and classification products that are the result of the classification development cycle.

The Independent Health and Aged Care Pricing Authority (IHACPA) undertakes the development of classifications for admitted patient care. In Australia, the classification and standards used for admitted patient care include:

  • International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revision, Australian Modification (ICD-10-AM)
  • Australian Classification of Health Interventions (ACHI)
  • Australian Coding Standards (ACS); collectively known as ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS
  • Australian Refined Diagnosis Related Groups (AR-DRGs).

The table below outlines the relationship between the Framework and the applicable admitted care classifications.

Governance framework ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS AR-DRG
2019-2022 Twelfth Edition Version 11.0
2022-2025 Thirteenth Edition Version 12.0
Is this page useful?