Consultation now open - Consultation Paper on the Pricing Framework for Australian Public Hospital Services 2025–26

Make a submission

ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Tenth Edition

Date published: 1 July 2017

ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Tenth Edition was implemented between 1 July 2017 and 30 June 2019 for classifying episodes of admitted patient care across Australian hospital services.

The ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS classification system is comprised of the following classifications:

  • International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revision, Australian Modification (ICD-10-AM)
  • Australian Classification of Health Interventions (ACHI)
  • Australian Coding Standards (ACS).

ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Tenth Edition is published as a set of five volumes which contain the below products.

ICD-10-AM Tabular List of Diseases (Volume 1)

The ICD-10-AM Tabular List contains the disease classification at the three, four and five character levels with a symbol to indicate Australian codes.

ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index of Diseases (Volume 2)

The ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index of Diseases is used to locate diagnostic terms to be coded. The ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index contains many diagnostic terms which do not appear in the ICD-10-AM Tabular List. 

ACHI Tabular List of Procedures (Volume 3)

The ACHI Tabular List contains the interventions classification.

ACHI Alphabetic Index of Procedures (Volume 4)

The ACHI Alphabetic Index is used to locate procedural terms to be coded. The ACHI Alphabetic Index contains many procedural terms which do not appear in the ACHI Tabular List.

Australian Coding Standards (Volume 5)

The Australian Coding Standards contains the national standards which provide guidance in the application of the ICD-10-AM and the MBS-E codes. 

To purchase ICD-10-AM/ACHI/ACS Tenth Edition, please visit Lane Print.

Is this page useful?