Consultation now open - Consultation Paper on the Pricing Framework for Australian Public Hospital Services 2025–26

Make a submission

ICD-10-AM/MBS-E/ACS First Edition

Date published: 1 July 1998

ICD-10-AM/MBS-E/ACS First Edition was implemented between 1 July 1998 and 30 June 2000 for classifying episodes of admitted patient care across Australian hospital services.

The ICD-10-AM/MBS-E/ACS classification system is comprised of the following classifications:

  • International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revision, Australian Modification (ICD-10-AM)
  • Medicare Benefits Schedule – Extended (MBS-E)
  • Australian Coding Standards (ACS).

ICD-10-AM/MBS-E/ACS First Edition is published as a set of five volumes which contain the below products.

ICD-10-AM Tabular List of Diseases (Volume 1)

The ICD-10-AM Tabular List contains the disease classification at the three, four and five character levels with a symbol to indicate Australian codes.

ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index of Diseases (Volume 2)

The ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index of Diseases is used to locate diagnostic terms to be coded. The ICD-10-AM Alphabetic Index contains many diagnostic terms which do not appear in the ICD-10-AM Tabular List.

MBS-E Tabular List of Procedures (Volume 3)

The MBS-E Tabular List contains the interventions classification.

MBS-E Alphabetic Index of Procedures (Volume 4)

The MBS-E Alphabetic Index is used to locate procedural terms to be coded. The MBS-E Alphabetic Index contains many procedural terms which do not appear in the MBS-E Tabular List.

Australian Coding Standards (Volume 5)

The Australian Coding Standards contains the national standards which provide guidance in the application of the ICD-10-AM and the MBS-E codes.

Is this page useful?